Presenting the 2022 Blavatnik National Awards Laureates


On September 19, 2022, the Blavatnik Family Foundation hosted the eighth annual Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists Ceremony at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. The awards celebrate America’s most talented young early-career scientists working in the three disciplinary categories of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry. Every year, one Blavatnik National Awards Laureate in each disciplinary category receives $250,000 in unrestricted funds, and additional nominees are recognized as Finalists. 2017 Nobel Laureate, Professor Michael W. Young of Rockefeller University, served as presenter. The 2022 National Awards Laureates are:


2022 Blavatnik National Awards Laureate in Life Sciences
Elaine Y. Hsiao, Ph.D.

Directed by Roni Katz Frydman (Israel)


Neurobiologist, Elaine Y. Hsiao, Ph.D. at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) was recognized by the Blavatnik Awards for discoveries that expand the understanding of how the gut microbiome–the community of microorganisms that live in the intestines–interacts with the nervous system. Her work could help improve maternal-fetal health and predict the risk for neurodevelopmental disorders.


2022 Blavatnik National Awards Laureate in Chemistry
Hosea M. Nelson, Ph.D.

Directed by Roni Katz Frydman (Israel)


Synthetic chemist, Hosea M. Nelson, Ph.D., at the California Institute of Technology (CALTECH) has developed a technique that will help organic chemists design and synthesize new molecules. Nelson has pioneered microcrystal electron diffraction (MicroED) as a tool to determine the positions of atoms within small molecules with unprecedented detail. The resulting insights can help accelerate the development of new drugs and commercial chemicals.


2022 Blavatnik National Awards Laureate in Physical Sciences & Engineering
Conor Walsh, Ph.D.
Harvard University

Directed by Roni Katz Frydman (Israel)


Click here to learn more about The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists.