Skip to content

All The Best Stories Are True

Baillie Gifford stories are true

All The Best Stories Are True 2-15-23

A few months into 2023 and The Baillie Gifford Prize continues to celebrate and honor its 25th anniversary. Last month, the very exciting Winner of Winners competition was announced, which will see four judges – Chair Jason Cowley, Shahidha Bari, Sarah Churchwell, and Frances Wilson – pick a triumphant novel from all the past winners.

Today, the one-off documentary, All The Best Stories Are True, premiered on The Baillie Gifford Prize’s brand new website, exploring the history of the prize from nail-biting moments to life-changing stories. The documentary uncovers how it started out as the non-fiction rival to the Booker, and what the next two and a half decades hold for readers and writers in a world now steeped in ‘fake news’. It is also available to watch on the Baillie Gifford Prize YouTube channel.

The newly launched website enables visitors to find their next non-fiction read. There is a run-down of all the longlisted, shortlisted, and winning books alongside every episode of Read Smart, the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction’s podcast.

Stay up to date on all things Baillie Gifford Prize on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. Catch up on every episode of the Read Smart podcast, generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation, on SpotifyApple Podcasts, and Soundcloud. New episodes, coming soon, will delve into the works on the Winner of Winners shortlist.

Back to News

Learn More

Discover the cutting-edge science we fund

Providing many of the world's best researchers, scientists, and universities with support, and funding to discover breakthroughs that solve humankind's greatest challenges.

See how we support great cultural institutions around the world

The Foundation contributes to renowned institutions that showcase the breadth of arts and culture, including performance, exhibition and education.

Visit the Blavatnik Archive

The Blavatnik Archive is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to preserving and disseminating materials that contribute to the study of 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia.