Skip to content

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judges for 2023

BG Prize Judges 2023

BG Prize Judges

Today, 23 May 2023, The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces the full judging panel for the 2023 award.

Chair of Judges, Frederick Studemann, Literary Editor of Financial Times, will be joined by award-winning author Andrea Wulf; theatre critic for The Guardian, Arifa Akbar; writer and historian, Ruth Scurr; journalist and critic, Tanjil Rashid; and Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Arts, Andrew Haldane.

The submissions for this year’s prize are now open. Publishers have until June 17 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2022 and 31 October 2023.

Chair of Judges Frederick Studemann says: “I am delighted to be chairing such a distinguished panel of judges that brings together a wide range of expert and original voices. I have long been a fan of the Baillie Gifford Prize, one of the preeminent literary prizes in the English-speaking world. We are living through something of a golden age of non-fiction with lots of new and different writers having the opportunity to tell their stories and I look forward to reading and debating their work with my fellow judges.”

Toby Mundy, executive director of the Prize, says: This is a momentous year for the Baillie Gifford Prize. We are incredibly lucky to have Frederick Studemann as our chair and he and his distinguished fellow judges will select the strongest non-fiction books of the year at a time of incredibly strong and diverse publishing in this area. I don’t envy them their task, and can’t wait to see what they choose.”

The winner of the prize will be announced on 16 November 2023, following the shortlist announcement in October and the longlist in September.

The prize aims to recognize and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography, and the arts.

The 2023 awards event, which will take place at the Science Museum in London, is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.

Back to News

Learn More

Discover the cutting-edge science we fund

Providing many of the world's best researchers, scientists, and universities with support, and funding to discover breakthroughs that solve humankind's greatest challenges.

See how we support great cultural institutions around the world

The Foundation contributes to renowned institutions that showcase the breadth of arts and culture, including performance, exhibition and education.

Visit the Blavatnik Archive

The Blavatnik Archive is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to preserving and disseminating materials that contribute to the study of 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia.