Skip to content

The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner of Winners Shortlist

The Baillie Gifford Prize for non-fiction

BG Prize Winner of Winners Shortlist 3-9-23

The shortlist for the Baillie Gifford Prize’s 25th Anniversary Winner of Winners award, where four judges – Chair Jason Cowley, Shahidha Bari, Sarah Churchwell, and Frances Wilson – pick a triumphant novel from the prize’s history. The six shortlisted authors have all previously won the prize and are now in the running to win the ultimate accolade. Congratulations to all!

The Winner of Winners shortlist:

Author/translator (Nationality)Title (Imprint) – Year of win
Craig Brown (UK)One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time (4th Estate, HarperCollins) – 2020
Wade Davis (Canada)Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory and the Conquest of Everest (The Bodley Head, Vintage, Penguin Random House UK) – 2012
Barbara Demick (US)Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in North Korea (Granta) – 2010
Patrick Radden Keefe (US)Empire of Pain: The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty (Doubleday, Penguin Random House UK) – 2021
Margaret Macmillan (Canada)Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed The World (formerly Peacemakers: Six Months That Changed The World) (John Murray Press, Hachette) – 2002
James Shapiro (US)1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare (Faber & Faber) – 2006

In tomorrow’s new Read Smart podcast episode, host, Razia Iqbal speaks to Jason Cowley and Sarah Churchwell about the six shortlisted works and why they stand out from the prize’s history. The 25th anniversary has already been marked by the debut of the new documentary, All The Best Stories Are True, which is also available to watch on YouTube. From nail-biting moments to life-changing stories, the documentary delves into the legacy of the prize and what it means to people. The prize’s new website encompasses all angles of the prize’s history and provides a catalog of podcast episodes, and an archive of previously longlisted, shortlisted, and winning books — all enabling readers to find their next non-fiction read.

The winner will be announced on Thursday 27 April at an event held at the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh. Stay up to date by following via Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. Catch up on all episodes of the Read Smart podcast, generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation, on SpotifyApple Podcasts, and Soundcloud.

Back to News

Learn More

Discover the cutting-edge science we fund

Providing many of the world's best researchers, scientists, and universities with support, and funding to discover breakthroughs that solve humankind's greatest challenges.

See how we support great cultural institutions around the world

The Foundation contributes to renowned institutions that showcase the breadth of arts and culture, including performance, exhibition and education.

Visit the Blavatnik Archive

The Blavatnik Archive is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to preserving and disseminating materials that contribute to the study of 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia.